Mima Search Marketing header image 2

Mybloglog co-author request spam in an email box near you

February 18th, 2007  ·  by Chris Dohman  ·  No Comments


Today I received an email request that said:

Hi NorthRock,

I would like to add you as a co-author of my MyBlogLog community below:

Blog/Site: Xxxx Xxxxx (http://www.xxxxxxxxxxxx.be)
MyBlogLog community: http://www.mybloglog.com/buzz/community/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/

Your MUST click on the link below to accept this request:

http://www.mybloglog.com/buzz/add_author_conf.php?sid=xxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxx &mid=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Thanks,
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx”

I was skeptical from the start because I had never heard of this blog community nor recognize the email address from which it came. It had to be spam, or maybe a mistake, or if I let my mind run wild maybe somebody really wanted me to co-author their site! No, this is the latest mybloglog spam, asking others to be a co-author. At least it’s new to me, I have not seen it before.

Do NOT accept the offer. Do NOT click the bottom link of the email. This will just put their blog image and link up on your profile page as a blog that you author taking away from the sites you do author. Many people have obviously fallen for the trick because if you visit their mybloglog community the list of authors is a mile long. I snapped a picture of it and posted it below. It is a very long image so I reduced the size a lot.

I don’t feel like sending any traffic their way so I didn’t include any links. You may have received the same offer already anyways.

UPDATE: Looks like Mybloglog is on top of this and is busy removing the authors. They say that the site mentioned in in the email was not to blame. Check out the mybloglog post about the spam.

mybloglog-co-author-request-spam.jpg

del.icio.us:Mybloglog co-author request spam in an email box near you  digg:Mybloglog co-author request spam in an email box near you

Tags: Spam · Social Media